old building


Professor C.Y. Wang, a graduate of the Hong Kong College of Medicine who obtained his M.D. from Edinburgh, was the first Professor of Pathology and was appointed in 1920. At the time the predominant causes of mortality were tropical diseases, mainly infections and parasites. Professor Wang's research concentrated on tuberculosis and he was to die of the disease in 1930. He was succeeded by Professor L.J. Davies until 1939 when Professor R.C. Robertson who had previously headed the Lester Institute of Research in Shanghai was appointed. Unfortunately he was held under house arrest following the Japanese invasion and later died in 1942.

Download our 2019 Brochure here

1920 - 1942

Professor C.Y. Wang

1948 - 1970

Professor Hou Pao-Chang

1972 - 1982

Professor James Gibson

1985 - 1996

Professor Faith Ho